Remember encountering Alan Greenspan

     From recent publicity about Alan Greenspan and his book The Age of Turbulence: Adventures in a New World, I am reminded of my 2 encounters with him.

     While serving in the administration of President George H.W. Bush, I lived in Washington, D.C., in the Watergate East building.  One day, as I was about to take an elevator ride from the fourth floor to a basement so that I could drive to work (which was at the General Services Administration building), an elevator door opened and I joined Alan Greenspan for the time it took him to get to the first floor.  I introduced myself and noted my role in the administration.

     Approximately a half-year later, the scenario repeated.  This time, I asked a question as to whether it was a coincidence that the previous time he and I were going DOWN in an elevator turned out to be the day of the announcement of the first of a series of actions LOWERING interest rates.

 —

Click for information about Thomas J. Buckholtz.

Leave a Reply

